Writing 101: Assignment- Commit to writing/ 3 Songs

I am participating in this Writing 101 that WordPress offers and this is the third assignment I believe. I did the first one and chose not to post it (didn’t have the balls for that lol), but here is the third.

The assignment was to pick three songs that are significant to me and write about them for 15 minutes. Not gonna lie, this was more like 20 minutes but I am still surprised by how much I got in that amount of time. Here it is…

Oceans (Where Feet May Fail) by Hillsong:

Earlier this year, I was going through a lot of things and I felt so alone in it all. I’m not the best communicator, I don’t lean on shoulders, I  get leaned on (which I am ok with). Faith is an area that I have always struggled in mainly because I tend to be a bit of a realist. I look at situations as they are and think of the most realistic outcomes. Faith though, makes us certain of realities we do not see. As I said, I was going through a bunch of different things, and I was talking to my sister about it and at the end of the conversation she text me some scriptures and told me to listen to this song. Every time I hear Oceans, I either cry, or I’m close to it. It’s not that I don’t have faith, I struggle with it, and this song reaffirms things that I already know but tend to forget. No matter how alone I feel, and even when I feel overwhelmed and discouraged God is and always has been right there with me. It may sound generic but it’s not. Without going off on a huge tangent, just know that for me it’s a big deal and I need constant reminders.

“Your grace abounds in deepest waters/Your sovereign hand will be my guide/Where feet may fail and fear surrounds me/You’ve never failed, and You won’t start now”

“Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders …”

Ain’t it Fun by Paramore:

So, I love Paramore and this song is kind of how I felt when I moved away from home (and by home I mean city not my mother’s house) for the first real-time.  Back home I had been paying my own bills, working full-time, had my own apartment, but it was all very comfortable and routine. Being comfortable can be a good thing however, my state of being “comfortable” was more along the lines of just settling for a less than mediocre life. The only reason I was comfortable was because my life had become a routine I didn’t necessarily enjoy, but had gotten used to. I lived within 15 minutes of three different family members houses( and many, many more scattered throughout the city), although I didn’t like my job I made it work for me and I had my favorite spots around the city to go to. When I moved that all changed. I now live 100,000 miles from home (extreme exaggeration) where I am forced to step outside of my comfort zone. Is this what I wanted? Absolutely. Does that make it easy, HELL NO! I feel like this song was just saying like “Yup, this is how you are when you’re in your world, now let’s see how you do when you’re not” To me, it’s very much about stepping outside of my comfort zone, meeting new people and forming new relationships, and pursuing my goals without any of the connections that I may have had back home. That’s real life. Ain’t it fun living in the real world? It’s alright lol.

Bed Peace by Jhené Aiko ft Childish Gambino:

Bed Peace is basically my frame of mind. When I first heard this song, I was like, “YESSS!” I love how it’s real chill and has a laid back type of vibe which really encompasses who I am. I feel like the song is very self-explanatory and like I said it’s how I feel. Jhené is like look I want to wake up late, smoke a blunt, have my man come over and we can make a day of this shit! Who doesn’t want that? I know I work hard, and to be able to wake up tomorrow afternoon and have this be the only thing on my agenda, I’m all the way here for it!  I don’t know about anyone else, but I want a chill relationship with someone who I am friends with. Someone that I would definitely just be friends with before anything else; I think that translates well into a relationship. Anyone that I have ever had the displeasure of…I’ll say “dealing with”, I don’t know that I would be friends with them, before or after. I also never really wanted to spend a lot of qt with said individuals so this scenario wouldn’t have been on my to-do list. I’m really good at working and I’m really good at lounging, like really good. Now don’t get me wrong, I wouldn’t want to do this every day because I do have bills to pay, goals to achieve, countries to visit but every so often, sign me up.

Leave a Reply

