Spring 2015 Fashion

We are not yet in the fall season, but designers are already hitting us with their lines for Spring 2015! New York Fashion Week kicked off at the Lincoln Center a few days ago where the “who’s who” of fashion royalty, buyers, celebrities, and designers gathered to see the collections for the spring season. I watched a few shows online, thanks to www.mbfashionweek.com, and, as I was watching, I couldn’t help but think that one day I might possibly be there getting a creative rush. To be surrounded by so many talented and creative individuals whose work I have admired for years would be a dream come true. One day. Patience is a virtue, I hear.

Fashion is a cycle, yes? Yes. That was apparent in one of my favorite shows by far, that of Carmen Marc Valvo. I live for the 50s and 60s, and Valvo brought 50’s fashion to Spring 2015 (he’s not the only designer to go back a few decades). I am all the way here for it! He kept the aesthetic of the 1950’s, but made it modern, and succeeded in every way. There really wasn’t a piece that didn’t make me contemplate getting a second job to be able to afford a few pieces. The silhouettes of the designs were amazing, right up my ally. His pieces where feminine, sexy, and elegant, and I’ve always been obsessed with a midi skirt and his line was full of them! Actually a lot of lines were, so Spring 2015 look out for midi skirts. My favorite dress had to be this blue and black sheer number. If I remember correctly, it was the only one of its kind and color; the color being what first caught my eye. It is such an amazing vibrant shade of blue, it’s gorgeous. The shoulders/sleeves have cut outs, a black cinched waist, and was sheer as you continue down. The flow of this dress is like a fan constantly blowing on you, it moves so beautifully and gracefully.

Monique Lhuillier is another designer whose collection I enjoyed. I have always admired her bridal collections; her gowns are always so chic and…pretty, for a lack of a better word. We saw a lot of soft/pastel colors (yellow,blush, lilac, mint green etc.) throughout her Ready-to-Wear collection, and, again, that midi skirt that was present across the runways. A trend that seems to be sticking around is crop tops, as some of the Lhuillier models donned them as they made their way down the runway. Her use of boxy silhouettes (trend alert!) and intricate beading was flawless. Other pieces included some formal structured shorts & evening gowns to round out the show.  Lhuillier’s inspiration came from watching the early moments of a sunrise while on a trip to the Bahamas, which I think was captured well.

What are your thoughts on the collections shown thus far? Did anyone catch any shows over the weekend? If so, I would love to know what some of your favorite or even least favorite collections were, & what shows you’re looking forward to seeing! Catch some of the looks from the Monique Lhuillier & Carmen Marc Valvo shows below!

Monique Lhuillier Spring 2015:

MLhuillier pinklilac-MLhuilliermlhuillier17MLhuillier lilac midiCarmen Marc Valvo: 

Favorite!!!
Favorite!!!
carmen-marc-valvo mancarmen-marc-valvo27

I don't know who this model is, but she werked that runway!
I don’t know who this model is, but she werked that runway!
carmen-marc-valvo09Black Carmen Marc Valvo

Leave a Reply

